•  

    Welcome to Mr. Browning's Distance Learning Classroom

     

    Please check below for Google Classroom codes.

     

    Check CVUSD Distance Learning Resources and FAQs at https://www.chino.k12.ca.us/DLR

     

    ***AP U.S. Government and Politics***

    Please refer to the Collegeboard website posted below for updated information about taking the AP Exam, gaining access to online learning materials, and practice exams. You are encouraged to explore the site and utilize any material that may enhance your success on the AP Exam. The AP Exam has been adjusted to include only FRQ questions in a 45 minute exam that you can take on a computer or mobile device. The specific type of FRQs and and any other exam details have been made available as of April 3rd. Please look at the AP Exam Schedule and Course Specifics link as well as the detailed exam information I have posted below. I will continue to post any updated information as it is provided to me by the CHHS administration or Collegeboard.  We will cotinue our normal lessons on April 6th.

    Collegeboard update

     

    AP Exam Schedule & Course Specifics

    Collegeboard posted the following information about what will be covered and what types of questions will be asked for the May 11th AP U.S. Government & Politics Exam. Please note that there are only 2 FRQS. One will use the Argument Essay format (25 mins.) & the other will use the Concept Application Format (15 mins). Note that the Exam will only cover Units 1-3, which includes Chapters 1-9 only.

    Argument Essay: Develop an argument in the form of an essay, using evidence from one or more foundational documents and/or knowledge of a course concept to support your claims. (So, structure your response like an essay with an intro, at least two main points with supporting evidence & analysis to support your claims, and a conclusion.)

    **Remember: the evidence you reference should include one or more of the Foundational Documents.

    Foundational Documents

    Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, Constitution of the United States, including the Bill of Rights and subsequent amendments, Federalist No. 10, Federalist No. 51, Federalist No. 70, Federalist No. 78, Brutus No. 1, Letter from a Birmingham Jail (Martin Luther King, Jr.) 

     

    Concept Application: Respond to a political scenario, explaining how it relates to a political principle, institution, process, policy, or behavior. (Think..the 3 branches, the Constitution, or chapter titles, like Federalism, Civil Liberties, Civil Rights) You should be able to demonstrate an understanding of the concept and how it relates to the given political scenario.

    EXAM INFORMATION

    U.S. Government and Politics

    Test date and time

    Exam Date: May 11

    • Hawaii Time: 10 a.m.
    • Alaska Time: 12 p.m.
    • Pacific Time: 1 p.m.
    • Mountain Time: 2 p.m.
    • Central Time: 3 p.m.
    • Eastern Time: 4 p.m.

    Exam timing

    Students will have 25 minutes to read and respond to Question 1, and then 5 minutes to upload their response. After uploading the response to Question 1, students will have 15 minutes to respond to Question 2, with 5 additional minutes to upload their response to Question 2. Once their response to Question 1 has been submitted, they cannot go back to it.

    Questions

    Question 1 (25 mins.)

    Question 2 (15 mins.)

    % of exam weight (rounded)

    60%

    40%

    Question name

    Argument Essay

    Concept Application

    Question description

    Question 1 assesses students’ ability to do the following:

    • Articulate a defensible claim or thesis that responds to the question and establishes a line of reasoning
    • Provide evidence from 1 of the foundational documents listed in the question to support the claim
    • Provide evidence from a second foundational document, or from knowledge of course concepts, to support the claim
    • Use reasoning to explain why both pieces of evidence support the claim

    Question 2 presents students with an authentic scenario, and assesses students’ ability to do the following:

    • Explain the effects of a political institution, behavior, or process
    • Transfer understanding of course concepts and apply them in a new situation or scenario

    Corresponding free-response question (FRQ) type in the course and exam description binder

    FRQ 4. Follows the question type and scoring for FRQ 4, with the following modifications to the Scoring Guidelines:

    • Additional point added to Row B for a second piece of evidence.
    • Additional point added to Row C to assess reasoning separately for each piece of evidence.
    • Row D (Alternative Perspective) is eliminated from this year’s scoring.

    FRQ 1

    Units eligible for 2020 exam

    Units 1–3

    Units not included in 2020 exam

    Units 4–5

    Make-up test date and time

    Date: June 1

    • Hawaii Time: 6 a.m.
    • Alaska Time: 8 a.m.
    • Pacific Time: 9 a.m.
    • Mountain Time: 10 a.m.
    • Central Time: 11 a.m.
    • Eastern Time: 12 p.m.

     

     

    *** The following link is from the Collegeboard's collection of YouTube videos for AP Exam Prep. The teacher goes over some of the adjustments to curriculum for the new format on the updated AP U.S. Government & Politics Exam for 2020. She presents her lesson, and gives you access to more material in the description area on Google Drive. Definitely utilize the resources on Google Drive. She includes a great deal of useful information, and there are updates daily. Check it out when you have time. I'll post more videos if Collegeboard makes them available.

    AP Government Lesson on Voting Rights and Behavior 

    Federalists vs. Antifederalists (Federalist #51 and Brutus #1

    Bureaucracy and it's role in Policy Making

     

    ***McGraw-Hill has generously given educators and their students access to review materials for AP Exam Preparation. Follow the link below to gain access to the codes for AP U.S. Government & Politics as well as may other course offerings

    Free Access to 5 Steps to a 5

     

    Please use the following codes to join Google Classroom according to class period:

    (Available April 6th)

    Period 1 (Public Speaking): 6i5jjzb 

    Period 2 (AP Government):  jpbcgf5

    Period 3 (AVID 10): 7g5cpja

    Period 4 (AP Government): jpbcgf5

    Period 5 (AVID 10): 7g5cpja

    Period 6 (AVID 10): 7g5cpja

     

    Directions to Access Google Classroom through ClassLink (open a Chrome Browser)

    1. Students can log into their ClassLink on the Chino Hills High School webpage www.chino.k12.ca.us/chinohills or click here

    2. ClassLink can be located under the Students tab

    3. The username for ClassLink is the same username students use to sign into computers and laptops on campus. For most*, this is the first letter of their first name and their complete last name. Example:  JHusky  (for Joe Husky) 

    *For some students, there can be a number, but students with this type of username already know this to be the case. 

    4. The password for ClassLink is the same password students use to sign into the computers and laptops on campus. This will be an UPPERCASE first letter of their first name and a lowercase first letter of their last name, and the last five numbers of their student ID. Example: Jh54321 (for Joe Husky xxxx54321)

    5. Google Classroom is located in ClassLink. Your Chino Valley USD email must be used to log into Google Classroom. This is the email that is your username and ends with @stu.chino.k12.ca.us (with your same password as above). Example: jhusky@stu.chino.k12.ca.us

     

    Community: Students and Parents

    For technological difficulties (devices, username/password, online tools)

    Hotline: (909) 628-1202 x1080 or communitysupport@chino.k12.ca.us

    8:00 am – 3:00 pm, Monday – Friday

    *Not for general information or homework help

     

    Contact information

    • email:  david_browning@chino.k12.ca.us

    Virtual office hours

    • Monday  12:00-2:00
    • Wednesday 12:00-2:00

    Updated syllabus (reflecting distance learning)

    • All assignments/notes will be found and submitted on the class website and Google Classroom
    • Assessments will be at the conclusion of chapters.  (udpates on specific assesments will be made)
    • Aeries Gradebook will continue to be used.  
    • Communication will be done through our class website.  Please check the website daily.  
    • Please email me with any questions.